Arirang Variations

Arirang Variations

$10.50 $8.93 $1.57

add to cart

Arirang Variations
(2 Scores per Order)

Composer: Hoffman, Stanley M.

"This work, first scored for piano solo, was composed for the 2008 Sejong Music Composition Competition. Although it did not win a prize, having entered the competition left me with a neat little piano piece to show for it, as well as the present transcription which I created for flutist Peter Sheridan in 2015.

The set of variations opens with the traditional Korean theme accompanied by arpeggios. This is followed by Variation 1, a sad waltz in the style of a Chopin waltz. Next comes Variation 2, a funeral march in the manner of Chopin’s Funeral March from the Piano Sonata in B-flat Minor, Op. 35. Variation 3 is a Tango written in tribute to one of my favorite composers, Astor Piazzolla. Variation 4 combined the Korean tune with motifs from the slow movement of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 6, The Pastoral. The set of variations closes with a repeat of the opening passage." -Stanley M. Hoffman

Additional Information
Product Number 7.0663
Composer Hoffman, Stanley M.
Difficulty Medium
Voicing & Instruments Two Flutes of the Same Kind
Historical Period 21st Century
Publisher ECS Publishing

Customer Reviews

This product has not yet been reviewed.

Write a Review

Please login or register to write a review for this product.